Two Daisies
Today we would like to introduce to our photographer-printmaker - Katherine Thorn

Introduce yourself briefly  My name is Kath Thorn and I am a photographer/printmaker living in Bourne End. I worked for many years for Channel Four News and took a sabbatical to train as a photojournalist in Washington DC and London.  After having children and moving to Marlow, I became fascinated by old photographic techniques and took a course in alternative photographic processes at Central St Martins.  I specialised in photopolymer gravure (also known as solar plate) which I learnt through a series of workshops at London Print Studio; St Barnabas Press, Cambridge and BodenPress in Chesham.

Describe your style? Dark, moody and atmospheric.  
Tell us about your workspace?  There are many different stages to the process. I shoot the photographs around the Thames Valley, send the film to be processed in London, scan the images at home, then make the plates and print at BodenPress in Chesham and London Print Studio. 

What inspires you?  I am inspired by the countryside around the Thames Valley. I grew up around here and when I'm out shooting in the beautiful early morning and evening light it reminds me of childhood summers. 
How and when did you get involved with Collective Art in Marlow?  I was extremely lucky to meet Julia Hayward who invited me to join the collective in 2011.
What is your favourite technique?  Shooting on black and white film with an old medium format camera.
Apart from photography and printmaking, do you have any other creative interests? Only sedentary ones!  Reading (mixture of great literature and complete rubbish), art (mainly abstract) and old films.
Tell us about where else we can see your work?  This has been my first full year exhibiting and my work has been shown at One Church Street Gallery, Great Missenden; Artspace at Barn Galleries, Henley-on-Thames; Upstairs Gallery, Berkhamstead and the Neo:printprize in Bolton.

As a bit of fun, Kath also told us the following: 
Favourite film: Brief Encounter

Pets: Very allergic . . . so none.

Favourite place to be: West Cornwall in winter.
Person I'd most like to invite to dinner: Steve Coogan
Random fact about me: I was at the first ever Glastonbury (aged 3).

Leave a Reply.