Today we would like to introduce you to a new guest exhibitor who will be joining us for our November event - ceramicist Chris Inder.

Tell us a bit about you:
I'm Chris Inder and have lived in Bucks for 20 years now! I have three children, two very much grown up – my eldest daughter is 28 and my son 25, and one younger daughter who is 15.  I also have a granddaughter who is 4 and keeps everyone on their toes! I have always dabbled in making – pictures, jewellery, clothes etc. but only discovered the messy world of clay about 10 years ago.

Describe your style: My style is quite calm and understated and reflects the qualities of the material. I love the feel of porcelain at each stage of its transformation from clay to finished piece. It has a delicateness that belies its strength.

Tell us about your workspace: I have a fantastic space at Commercial Square Ceramic Workshops in High Wycombe, where I can be messy and not worry about treading clay all through the house!

What inspires you: Most specifically at the moment it is food and dining, however, recently on walks in our local woods I have seen a huge variety of fungi and am contemplating something more sculptural . . . . .

How and when did you get involved with Collective Art in Marlow: This is my first time with Collective Art in Marlow. I know Carolyn Cameron from Commercial Square and am very much looking forward to meeting and exhibiting with the rest of the group.

What is your favourite technique: My favourite is probably throwing; you really do feel the clay and can vary form and scale at the time of making. Plus if it is a complete disaster you just squash it up and start again.

Apart from pottery do you have any other creative interests: I enjoy knitting, making soft furnishings and pottering about in my garden.

Tell us about where else we can see your work: I have work on display at Obsidian Gallery in Stoke Mandeville, you can visit me at my studio in High Wycombe (please contact me first) and I exhibit at Art in Clay at Hatfield in July, plus you can check my website for other upcoming events.

For a bit of fun we also asked Chris the following:

Favourite film:  Comedy films with my 15 year old – we just laugh out loud (even in the cinema)

Pets:  A cat and 2 rabbits of our own plus we are socialising our 2nd puppy for The Hearing Dogs for The Deaf.

Favourite place to be:  Anywhere outside – garden, woods, by water . . .

Person I'd most like to invite to dinner:  Tricky one, but at the moment I would go for Nina Conti – ventriloquist – and her Gran!

Random fact about me:  I am restoring a narrow boat – a much bigger project than anticipated.



The slideshow below gives some examples of Chris' work:
10/9/2015 12:23:53 pm

Nice to know somebody new! Thank's for sharing!

Reply



Leave a Reply.